Home > News > Media Coverage > Text

Exciting times for rugby in Asian Games

Updated:2017-10-07 14:50:58 Source: ocasia.org

Guangzhou, October 7 - Nine teams will compete in both the men's and women's rugby sevens tournaments of the 16th Asian Games in Guangzhou next month. These are exciting times for rugby sevens, as the abbreviated version of the game will make its Olympic Games debut in Rio de Janeiro in 2016.

Women's rugby will make its Asian Games debut in Guangzhou and the rankings for Thursday's draw were based on the results of the recent Asian Women's Championship held in Guangzhou as a test event for the Asian Games. China beat Kazakhstan in the final on that occasion.

Japan won the gold medal in the men's Asian Games event in Doha 2006, beating Korea Republic 27-26 in the final, and the rankings were based on this tournament through to 2010. Overall, Korea Republic has four gold medals to Japan's one in Asian Games rugby history dating back to Bangkok 1998.

The top four teams in each pool will qualify for the quarter-finals, leading to the gold medal match and play-off for the bronze between the two losing semi-finalists.

Men's Rugby

Pool A: Japan, Hong Kong (China), Thailand, Malaysia, Mongolia

Pool B: Korea Republic, China, Sri Lanka, India

Women's Rugby

Pool A: China, Thailand, Hong Kong (China), Uzbekistan, Korea Republic

Pool B: Kazakhstan, Japan, Singapore, India

[Favourite] [Found a mistake] [Adjust Font Size:A A A]

Related stories



体育小百科 www.gz2010.cn